top of page

Day 1 Aug. 26, 2015

The Writing:

Today I failed to reach my goal of four hours of solid writing, but I did manage a good two hours. I've learned not to get too discouraged if I fail to reach my writing goals and chalk it up to life getting in the way. I am in a foreign country with a dozen bakeries in a one block radius after all. If I beat myself up too much for missing out on two hours I end up throwing in the whole goal which would be much worse. So I've learned to shrug off the missed time and keep going.

I was a little low on inspiration for a book series I've wanted to start so I put it off for now. I also didn't feel like digging through my folder of 'Works in Progress' to finish a story. There was also a long list of things I've already finished and need to submit so I hid that for today. I finally decided to start with something new, something to get the creative juices flowing.

I opened up Horrortree.com and browsed through some of the submission calls they have going. Once I found something I quickly came up with an idea and began writing. I often do this practice when I find myself not in the mood to write or am struggling to start. Someties having a short new project can get the gears moving.

I was an hour into the first story, a weird fantasy set in the 1800's, when I realized my characters weren't speaking like they were from the 1800's. For instance, I had a character refer to a 'car' as if it were a common item. Looking over my work I realized none of the dialogue was consistent with that era. Rather than go through and polish up the dialogue I saved the work in my 'Works in Progress' folder and found a new competition to write for.

The second story is going much better and proving much more promising, a horror piece I'm basing off a real life experience, and resulted in the second hour of writing.

I've realized using personal experiences in a fresh or interesting way can sometimes give me a boost and get my imagination running.

Tomorrow I hope to finish this story and have it ready for the competition deadline on the 31st.

Non-writing:

Today was a rather quiet day spent with my wife. We've been burned out from the traveling to get here a few days ago and we've been shopping and cleaning to get our apartment to a liveable state since. We decided to relax with a movie and take a break from it all. We did venture outside to buy some groceries and a croissant for breakfast before returning inside.

It's been interesting trying to function in a country where we don't speak the language. If I didn't have a similar experience from serving a mission for my church in El Salvador, then I would probably be a little more panicked. That being said, it's been a little frustrating that something as simple as ordering a croissant involves a bit of charades, pointing, and laughing when I'm finally understood.

My wife seems a little less frazzled now that the place is clean and is beginning to feel like it could work as our home for nine months.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page